February 4, 2016


The National Conference of Bankruptcy Judges Annual Conference is imagined and created each year by a talented and dedicated team of judges, insolvency–related organizations and their leadership, practitioners and presenters. Practitioners add to the discussion when everyone gathers.


Hon. Mary Grace Diehl
(Bankr. N.D. Ga.) Atlanta, GA
NCBJ President and Conference Chair

Hon. Mary Walrath
(Bankr. D. Del.) Wilmington, DE
NCBJ President-elect

Hon. Laurel Meyerson Isicoff
(Bankr. S.D. Fla.) Miami, FL

Hon. Marian Harrison
(Bankr. M.D. Tenn.) Nashville, TN
NCBJ Treasurer

Hon. Robert E. Nugent III
(Bankr. D. Kan.) Wichita, KS
NCBJ Immediate Past President


Hon. Beth Burris
(Bankr. D.S.C.) Spartanburg, SC

Hon. Dennis R. Dow
(Bankr. W.D. Mo.) Kansas City, MO

Hon. Robert Grossman
(Bankr. E.D.N.Y.) Central Islip, NY

Hon. Mark D. Houle
(Bankr. C.D. Cal.) Riverside, CA


First Circuit
Hon. Frank J. Bailey
(Bankr. D. Mass.) Boston, MA

Second Circuit
Hon. Colleen A. Brown
(Bankr. D. Vt.) Burlington, VT

Third Circuit
Hon. Kathryn C. Ferguson
(Bankr. D. N.J.) Trenton, NJ

Fourth Circuit
Hon. Nancy V. Alquist
(Bankr. D. Md.) Baltimore, MD

Fifth Circuit
Hon. Barbara J. Houser
(Bankr. N.D. Tex.) Dallas, TX

Sixth Circuit
Hon. Arthur J. Harris
(Bankr. N.D. Ohio) Cleveland, OH

Seventh Circuit
Hon. Cate Furay
(Bankr. W.D. Wis.) Eau Claire, WI

Eighth Circuit
Hon. Kathleen H. Sanberg
(Bankr. D. Minn.) Minneapolis, MN

Ninth Circuit
Hon. Jim D. Pappas
(Bankr. D. Idaho) Boise, ID

Tenth Circuit
Hon. Robert H. Jacobvitz
(Bankr. D.N.M.) Albuquerque, NM

Eleventh Circuit
Hon. William R. Sawyer
(Bankr. M.D. Ala.) Montgomery, AL

Retired Judges
Hon. J. Michael Deasy
(Bankr. D.N.H.) Manchester, NH



Hon. Paul W. Bonapfel
(Bankr. N.D. Ga) Atlanta, GA

Hon. Frank J. Bailey
(Bankr. D. Mass.) Boston, MA

Hon. Elizabeth E. Brown
(Bankr. D. Colo.) Denver. CO

Hon. Clifton Jessup
(Bankr. N. D. Ala.) Decatur, AL

Hon. Stacey Jernigan
(Bank. N.D. Tex.) Dallas, TX

Hon. Stephen Johnson
(Bankr. N. D. Cal.) San Jose, CA

Mary Jo Heston
Lane Powell PC
Seattle, WA

Shaunna D. Jones
New York, NY

Denise Neary
Federal Judicial Center
Washington, DC

Katherine Porter
University of California, Irvine
School of Law
Irvine, CA

John Rao
National Consumer Law Center
Boston, MA

Paul Steven Singerman
Berger Singerman LLP
Miami, FL

Catherine L. Steege
Jenner & Block
Chicago, IL


ABA – American Bar Association, Business Law Section

ABI – American Bankruptcy Institute

ACB – American College of Bankruptcy

AIRA – Association of Insolvency & Restructuring Advisors

CLLA – Commercial Law League of America

IWIRC – International Women’s Insolvency & Restructuring Confederation

NCBJ – National Conference of Bankruptcy Judges


Hon. M. Elaine Hammond
(Bankr. N.D. Cal.) San Jose, CA

Judicial Members:
Hon. Janet S. Baer
(Bankr. N.D. Ill.) Chicago, IL

Hon. Paul M. Baisier
(Bankr. N.D. Ga.) Atlanta, GA

Hon. Suzanne H. Bauknight
(Bankr. E.D. Tenn.) Knoxville, TN

Hon. Hannah L. Blumenstiel
(Bankr. N.D. Cal.) San Francisco, CA

Hon. Laurie Selber Silverstein
(Bankr. D. Del.) Wilmington, DE

Hon. Scott H. Yun
(Bankr. C.D. Cal.) Riverside, CA

Attorney Members:
Valerie Bantner Peo, Esq.
Buchalter Nemer, PC
San Francisco, CA

Eyal Berger, Esq.
Akerman LLP
Ft. Lauderdale, FL

Corrine Bielejeski, Esq.
East Bay Bankruptcy Law
Antioch, CA

Louis Bubala III, Esq.
Kaempfer Crowell
Reno, NV

Reno Fernandez, Esq.
Macdonald Fernandez LLP
San Francisco, CA

Scott Fleming, Esq.
Armstrong Teasdale LLP
Las Vegas, NV

Lisa Lenherr, Esq.
Tiemstra Law Group, PC
Oakland, CA

John Lucas, Esq.
Pachulski Stang Ziehl & Jones LLP
San Francisco, CA

Dawn Messick, Esq.
Ballard Spahr LLP
San Diego, CA

Sarah Olson, Esq.
Fredrikson & Byron, P.A.
Minneapolis, MN


AIRA – Association of Insolvency & Restructuring Advisors

California Local Bar Committee

with Scholarship Travel Awards Courtesy of American Bankruptcy Institute Foundation

Hon. Kathy Surratt-States
(Bankr. E.D.  Mo.) St. Louis, MO


Meeting Management
NCBJ Office at JBS & Associates

Audio Visual
Vision Creative

Entertainment Services
National Entertainment

Graphic Design
Regina Roland Graphic Design

San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Mobile App & Wi-Fi
Courtesy of ABI

Video Services
Upfront Communications

Web Services
CDR Marketing Group, Inc.

Wine Consultant
Christopher Celentino

Hon. Paul W. Bonapfel

In Support of the NCBJ President
Ashley D. Champion
Law Clerk

Artisan Events