February 4, 2016


The National Conference of Bankruptcy Judges Annual Conference is imagined and created each year by a talented and dedicated team of judges, insolvency–related organizations and their leadership, practitioners and presenters. Practitioners add to the discussion when everyone gathers.



Hon. Mary Walrath
(Bankr. D. Del.) Wilmington, DE
NCBJ President and Conference Chair

Hon. John E. Waites
(Bankr. S.C.) Columbia SC  Secretary

Hon. Marian Harrison
(Bankr. M.D. Tenn.) Nashville, TN
NCBJ Treasurer

Hon. Marian Harrison
(Bankr. M.D. Tenn.) Nashville, TN
NCBJ Treasurer

Hon. Mary Grace Diehl
(Bankr. N.D. Ga.) Atlanta, GA
NCBJ Immediate Past President


Hon. Laurel M. Isicoff
(Bankr. S.D.Fla.)

Hon. Dennis R. Dow
(Bankr. W.D. Mo.) Kansas City, MO

Hon. Robert Grossman
(Bankr. E.D.N.Y.) Central Islip, NY

Hon. Mark D. Houle
(Bankr. C.D. Cal.) Riverside, CA


First Circuit
Hon. Frank J. Bailey
(Bankr. D. Mass.) Boston, MA

Second Circuit
Hon. Robert D. Drain
(Bankr. S.D.N.Y.) White Plains, NY

Third Circuit
Hon. Robert N. Open II
(Bankr. M.D. Pa.) Wikes-Barre, PA

Fourth Circuit
Hon. Nancy V. Alquist
(Bankr. D. Md.) Baltimore, MD

Fifth Circuit
Hon. Barbara J. Houser
(Bankr. N.D. Tex.) Dallas, TX

Sixth Circuit
Hon. Arthur J. Harris
(Bankr. N.D. Ohio) Cleveland, OH

Seventh Circuit
Hon. Cate Furay
(Bankr. W.D. Wis.) Eau Claire, WI

Eighth Circuit
Hon. Kathleen H. Sanberg
(Bankr. D. Minn.) Minneapolis, MN

Ninth Circuit
Hon. Margaret M. Mann
(Bankr. S.D. Cal.) San Diego, CA

Tenth Circuit
Hon. Terrence L. Michael
(Bankr. N.D. Okla.) Tulsa, OK

Eleventh Circuit
Hon. Susan D. Barrett
(Bankr. S.D. Ga. ) Augusta, GA

Retired Judges
Hon. J. Michael Deasy
(Bankr. D.N.H.) Manchester, NH





Hon. Frank J. Bailey
District of Massachusetts


Hon. John E. Hoffman, Jr.
(Bankr.S.D.) Columbus, OH

Hon. Janet S. Baer
(Bankr. N.D. IL) Chicago, IL

Hon. Daniel P. Collins
(Bankr. D.AZ) Phoenix, AZ

Hon. William J. Lafferty, III
(Bankr. N.D. CA) San Francisco, CA


Adrienne K. Walker, Esq.
Mintz Levin LLP
Boston, MA

Sharon Z. Weiss, Esq
Bryan Cave, LLP
Los Angeles, CA

Michael St. Patrick Baxter, Esq.
Covington & Burling LLP
Washington, D.C.

Hon. Robert E. Gerber, Esq.
(Bankr. SDNY) (ret.)
Joseph Hage Aronson LLC
New York, N.Y.

Teddy M. Kapur, Esq
Pachulski, Stang, Ziehl & Jones, LLP
Los Angeles, CA

Law Professors/Education Professionals:

Denise M. Neary, Esq.
Senior Judicial Education Attorney
The Federal Judicial Center
Washington, D.C.

Nancy B. Rapoport, Esq.
Special Counsel to the President of UNLV,
Garman Turner Gordon Professor of Law,
UNLV William S. Boyd School of Law)
Las Vegas, NV

Financial Advisor:

John Tittle
Tittle Advisory Group
Irving, TX

Special Advisor and Board Liaison:

Hon. Robert E. Grossman
(Bankr. EDNY) Central Islip, N.Y.


Hon. Hannah L. Blumenstiel
(Bankr. N.D. Cal.) San Francisco, CA

Judicial Members:

Hon. Suzanne H. Bauknight
(Bankr. E.D. Tenn.) Knoxville, TN

Hon. Peter G. Cary
(Bankr. D. Me.) Portland, ME

Hon. M. Elaine Hammond
(Bankr. N.D. Cal.) San Jose, CA

Hon. Ronald B. King
(Bankr. W.D. Tex.) San Antonio, TX

Hon. August B. Landis
(Bankr. D. Nev.) Las Vegas, NV

Hon. Robert E. Nugent
(Bankr. D. Kan.) Wichita, KS

Hon. Scott H. Yun
(Bankr. C.D. Cal.) Riverside, CA

Attorney Members:

Eyal Berger, Esq.
Akerman LLP
Ft. Lauderdale, FL

Louis M. Bubala, III, Esq.
Kaempfer Crowell
Reno, NV

Scott D. Fleming, Esq.
Armstrong Teasdale LLP
Las Vegas, NV

Talitha Gray Kozlowski, Esq.
Garman Turner & Gordon
Las Vegas, NV

Lisa Lenherr, Esq.
Tiemstra Law Group, PC
Oakland, CA

John W. Lucas, Esq.
Pachulski Stang Ziehl & Jones
San Francisco, CA

Valerie Bantner Peo, Esq.
Buchalter Nemer PC
San Francisco, CA

Sam Schwartz, Esq.
Schwartz Flansburg, PLLC
Las Vegas, NV

Jarret P. Hitchings, Esq.
Duane Morris LLP
Wilmington, DE

with Scholarship Travel Awards Courtesy of American Bankruptcy Institute Foundation

Hon. Kathy Surratt-States
(Bankr. E.D.  Mo.) St. Louis, MO


ABA – American Bar Association, Business Law Section

ABI – American Bankruptcy Institute

ACB – American College of Bankruptcy

AIRA – Association of Insolvency & Restructuring Advisors

CLLA – Commercial Law League of America

FBA – Federal Bar Association

III – International Insolvency Institute

IWIRC – International Women’s Insolvency & Restructuring Confederation

NCBJ – National Conference of Bankruptcy Judges


AIRA – Association of Insolvency & Restructuring Advisors


Meeting Management
NCBJ Office at JBS & Associates

Audio Visual
Vision Creative

Graphic Design
Regina Roland Graphic Design

Paris Las Vegas

Mobile App & Wi-Fi
Courtesy of ABI

Year In Review Video
Richard L. Wynne
Jones Day

Web Services
CDR Marketing Group, Inc.